The North School, a one room schoolhouse built in 1865 and now the current home for the Groveland Garden Club, is still situated at its original location at 26 Broad Street in a section of town known as Savaryville. The school has seen many generations of Groveland children enter and leave through its doorways until 1956 when a burgeoning post World War II population finally overran the modest space, forcing students to relocate to a different school.
The Little Red School House, as it’s affectionately called by townsfolk, is owned by the Town of Groveland, and leased to the Groveland Garden Club. The Club saved the building from demolition in 1969 and has since lovingly cared for the schoolhouse as a living exhibit. The original blackboards still hang on the walls and the floors are the same ones that generations of Groveland children trod when the Town was in its infancy. Today, colonial workshops are held there so that third grade students in Groveland can experience the history of their local historic landmark.
The schoolhouse is one of two remaining historic structures in Groveland, the other being Washington Hall. The Town of Groveland voiced its pride in their town treasure in 2009 when Community Preservation Act funds were voted to restore the structure of the Little Red School House.
To date, we have repaired our roof, installed new insulated windows, donned a beautiful fresh coat of paint, updated plumbing that hooks into the city sewer and repaired the foundation. We are still working towards updating the electrical and replacing the ceiling (that was damaged by the old leaky roof), as well as adding shelving in certain areas for storage. This work will be done in small projects as funding is available.
We would like to extend our sincere gratitude to those who have supported our efforts in this project.